because things are not in black and white

I ran over to our synagogue building to meet someone who was bringing over some boxes for our Purim Mishloach Manot packages that we have to put together. I saw her bringing her van around the other side of the building, as I instructed her, in order to bring the boxes into the closest door to the storage, but I realized I didn’t have the key to unarm the alarm. So I ran to find someone to help me locate one. Right away, I found the custodian who was standing and listening to someone from the office.  I went to interrupt their conversation so not to make this other person wait any longer than already necessary, but this woman looked at me and said,

“My [someone very close to her] just died.”

And I needed to put aside my own needs and listen to her for just a few minutes telling me about this very very tragic immediate loss that recapitulated previous losses and hurts and battles of many differing levels of discomfort.

But then I needed to come back to the present, of not making this other person wait, not taking advantage of her offer to help, but how can you take advantage of the space between emotions?

I did. I apologized for having to do so, but then I asked for help from the custodian and then I told this woman I’d check in with her as soon as I was done moving the boxes.

And that I did, and we were able to catch up a little bit more, and I knew she knew I was reaching out however I could, so she would know that I did and I do care.

And I shared the photos that I have of our family all together in Israel after we picked fruit to help the poor for Leket Israel.

Leket Israel, Israel’s National Food Bank 

Serving as the country’s National Food Bank and largest food rescue network, Leket Israel works to alleviate the problem of nutritional insecurity amongst the growing numbers of Israel’s poor. In 2013, with the help of over 50,000 volunteers, Leket Israel rescued and distributed 25 million lbs of produce and perishable goods, 1 million prepared meals, and 1.1 million (8,000/school day) volunteer prepared sandwiches to underprivileged children. Food, that would have otherwise gone to waste, was redistributed to hundreds of nonprofit partners caring for the needy. Leket Israel offers nutrition educationcapacity building, and food safety projects to further assist our partners.

25 million pounds of food.

I was thinking about posting a photo to respond to Cee’s Fun Foto sepia challenge before all this happened this morning. And as I reflected on it, I thought that maybe it would indeed be relevant, since sepia is not black and white, is it?

But then I realized that my response should be to show my gratitude, once again. The gratitude should be paid forward, right? So here’s the link to help Leket Israel do their job by providing a bit of happiness for Purim, the story of because things are not in black and white.

DSC_0893 (2)

I’ll save my sepia for another time.

One thought on “because things are not in black and white

Leave a Reply

