what am i readying?

That’s really quite curious. Perhaps, Child#4, you would say it’s a fruitian slip.

I did mean to write “reading”, but, of course, what a pun.

A friend asked on Facebook what we’re reading to get ready for Pesach. I didn’t answer because I wasn’t really reading anything per se for the holiday except tons of food blogs. Okay maybe I should have answered him that way. But everyone else was giving him snide remarks, so I think my answer would have been lost in the snark. And really, I thought I should say something meaningful, like the Yeshivat Har Etzion Virtual Beit Midrash Pesach Journal, which then I thought would sound too full of it, since I really hadn’t read anything from there yet, so I didn’t say anything.

So how am I readying, besides the food ideas? I’ll let you know if any of them are good, for sure.

I’m thinking.

This is what I can do when cleaning.

This is what I can do when trying to go to sleep, or somehow waking up with ideas that came to me somehow sometime.

Somehow bits and pieces of the Haggadah come to me from years past and I see them or hear them differently.

So here are some of the ideas that I’m throwing around in my head at the moment:

  • Searching for the Afikoman is the culmination of searching for chametz 🙂
  • In fact so much of how we prepare for the holiday is by seeing and looking and showing, but really, what was the experience of leaving like?
  • How frightening it must have been to be actually experiencing the Exodus? Even with the full moon and with the advanced preparation, it must have been incredibly dark and fearful to be rushed into the night and forced to leave everything that you knew!
  • (בְּכָל דּוֹר וָדוֹר חַיָּב אָדָם לִרְאוֹת אֶת עַצְמוֹ (כְּאִלּוּ הוּא יָצָא מִמִּצְרַיִם

  • In every generation, one is obligated to see himself (as if he left Egypt). This is a very strong word, “obligated”! We have “commanded” other places, but what is this obligation mean?
  • And how is this “כְּאִלּוּ as if ” tied into the above section of Dayenu, with the shared word ?

And now to leave you with a recipe that I found that looks fun, but of course, not historically correct, here’s Martha with her Coconut Pyramids!

Haven’t tried them yet, but they look tempting, don’t they? I’ll probably change a whole bunch of ingredients (no vegetable shortening–maybe coconut oil instead, just to start).

So okay, back to readying.

 

Leave a Reply

