Marco!

I heard a woman calling today. I really hoped to hear “Polo!”, but instead, I heard “He’s coming back soon!” And when he came back, his mother (I presume) said, “I’m making macaroni and cheese for lunch, okay?”, which is funny, if it’s true that Marco Polo brought pasta to Europe.

Or not.

But here he is, with his buddies.

IMG_20140425_113213_200 (2)

Yes, definitely no parking going on there.

But then you can look at this photo from the next door over.

IMG_20140425_114647_647

I was attracted to the messiness of spring in both photos. It reflects the hope that tries to cover up our frailties.

Or otherwise, in search of the Marco Polo of the future.

Should I make pasta, then, in everyone’s honor, and especially following a week without? Or will leftovers be sufficient?

I think I’ll finish baking my first challah after Pesach now.

And perhaps, some e.e. cummings.

BY E. E. CUMMINGS

in Just-
spring          when the world is mud-
luscious the little
lame balloonman
whistles          far          and wee
and eddieandbill come
running from marbles and
piracies and it’s
spring
when the world is puddle-wonderful
the queer
old balloonman whistles
far          and             wee
and bettyandisbel come dancing
from hop-scotch and jump-rope and
it’s
spring
and
         the
                  goat-footed
balloonMan          whistles
far
and
wee
8 thoughts on “Marco!

      1. The point I guess I’d like to make by thanking you is that most people don’t leave comments, even if they like a post. So I do really appreciate that you made the effort (as much or as little as it takes).

      1. Lol … no, the job gets boring. The resounding repetitive chanting is aural torture, however. You’d think after 25 years my “issues” with that would have dissipated rather than generalized.
        Rationally, you’d thing that such a pointless game where everyone cheats would have faded away by now….

Leave a Reply

