circus volunteering in the north

I saw a great article this morning, “Serving the Quiet Majority” about the organization Skilled Volunteers for Israel,  “for those more mature Jews seeking to make a contribution in Israel as a volunteer.” So, of course, I was intrigued and looked at the site. And, since I hope to go back to the north of Israel, I looked at opportunities that they offer there.

Not to mention that my skill set is varied and I could fit in so many places, if I wanted.

But this one may be a bit out of my league–or not…

If you have circus, drama or music skills, join this unique program that brings Jewish and Arab communities together by teaching friendship and cooperation through the performing arts. Volunteers are needed in the area of drama, theatre and production design, costume, set and prop design.  Also useful is experience with informal educational settings to develop leadership skills in the children.

Volunteer commitments vary from a week to extended periods depending upon the specific skill set of the volunteer. Greatest areas of need are in the area of drama and theatre production design to help the Circus staff build a proper show out of the children’s skills. For longer term volunteers, helping to create a band and working on stage craft would also be helpful.  These program runs year round with the exception of the month of August.

Okay…Let’s see if my mature experience dovetails with this:

Project Details:

  • Length: Variable, depending upon skill
  • Hours per Week: Variable, depending upon skill
  • Days per Week: Variable depending upon skill

I can do all that–I’m good with going with the flow.

  • Skills Needed: Circus Skills including, Gymnastics, Acrobatics, Drama, Music, Choreography, Costumes, Set Design, Theater, Clowning, Informal education

Gymnastics? Acrobatics? I used to be a cheerleader. Drama, Music? I was a pre-school teacher. Costumes? I’ve put together countless numbers of Purim costumes and dress-up clothes. Theater? Informal education? I am a mother to 4 and a grandmother to 11. I’ve seen lots of drama and participated in lots of it.

(Pardon me as I change the order–I think you’ll figure out why)

Clowning?

Well, do I take myself seriously or not?

Nope. But I’m not sure that anyone would describe me as able to clown around so much. Maybe a little. But it doesn’t say that you need to have all the skills…

  • Language Requirements: Hebrew Preferred

!אין בעיה

At least לא בעיה גדולה

Okay, so maybe the Social Media Guru they offer is more my style…

But in the category of there are no coincidences, I also read about the passing of Rabbi Krustofski. On the Simpsons.

The death creates additional angst for Krusty [the clown] as the father, with his final breath, assesses his son’s comic ability: “Eh …”

What is the moral of this story? Don’t take yourself too seriously, especially during this period between Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur. Self-reflection and introspection as the most valuable tools of the season.

And just to prove that, I’m including a photo I took the other night during Havdalah, separating Shabbat (and Rosh Hashanah, for that matter, since we slipped from one into the other) from the rest of the week.

DSC_0463

We’re looking for our shadows on our fingernails. That way, we know we’re here, to know the difference between the light and the dark. And that’s no laughing matter.

 

Leave a Reply

