not talking turkey

I should be happy to talk about something other than the massacre in Jerusalem, the horrifying lack of comprehension of the threats ahead for the whole world. So I will be. And it’s not talking turkey.

From English Language & Usage:

An “origin” and definition of this “quaint phrase” are offered by the June 3, 1837 Niles’ Weekly Register:

“Talking turkey” The Oneida (N.Y.) Democrat gives the following as the origin of this quaint phrase:

“Talking turkey,” “as we understand it,” means to talk to a man as he wants to be talked to, and the phrase is thus derived. An Indian and a white man went a shooting in partnership and a wild turkey and a crow were all the results of the day’s toil. The white man, in the usual style of making a bargain with the Indian proposed a division of the spoils in this way: “Now Wampum, you may have your choice: you take the crow, and I’ll tale the turkey; or, if you’d rather, I’ll take the turkey and you take the crow.” Wampum reflected a moment on the generous alternative thus offered, and replied – “Ugh! you no talk turkey to me a bit.”

Perhaps, then, the world is also not talking turkey, by this account.

The other day, I went to pick up some things at Trader Joe’s. The cashier asked me if I found everything I wanted .

“I guess so”.

Then he inquired if I was all set for Thanksgiving now.

“I don’t really do the Thanksgiving. I don’t eat turkey, so I leave it for my sister and family.”

I tried to say it in a nice way, with a pleasant demeanor. I really didn’t want to downgrade the holiday.

We have Thanksgiving every week, us being observant Sabbath-keepers and all. This past Shabbat, we had 3 of our kiddies, four of our grandkiddies sleeping over. Plus, we were thankful enough to also host my sister, her husband, and her newly-engaged daughter and her beau for lunch.

Seriously, people get stressed out about Thanksgiving, that once-a-year thing when you don’t have to be ready at any real time. Shabbat is a real thing every week.

And I am so very grateful that we can be together again for Thanksgiving, minus ours but plus more of theirs, plus my father.

I mean, I’m still putting away the things from last week and I am ready to start cooking again for this Shabbat. And the week after and for as many weeks as the good Lord lets.

But first, I’ll reflect back to another link in the chain that we experienced on Sunday. Our #10 grandson had slept over, so we had the pleasure of playing with him all day. By “we”, I mean “I”, but ISHI did get to interact with him more than usual.  #10 noticed a thing on ISHI’s desk. He obliged by letting him handle it and then instruct him what to do. The little one caught on pretty quickly, just like his older cousins who have gone through the same delight in discovery.

DSC_1032 DSC_1033

 

DSC_1035

Oh, the joy of light!

Yes, there’s a reason why all the winter holidays come with light symbols.

But let’s go back to Thanksgiving for a moment, shall we?

I posted the words to this song a few years back here and I’ll make you work to go back there to look at them. Even though Bob Franke wrote the song, I like this version by Garnet Rogers better. It’s okay to keep improving.

 

3 thoughts on “not talking turkey

    1. Thank you. I do agree that this song is extremely powerful with its simple melody that delivers such a beautiful message. It’s also very poignant because Garnet’s brother Stan, who was a wonderful musician, died in a plane crash back in the early 80’s.

Leave a Reply

