silence is golden, but don’t take it with any gold salts

Keeping quiet counsel.

Keeping people’s business private.

I do think I’ve written about this before, but I can’t find it now, so bear with me if this sounds familiar. It definitely feels Groundhoggy to me.

There is a limit of what we can share with people, to the point that my kids think that I withhold information from them. It’s not willingly, but out of bafflement. Who did I tell? Whom should I/could I tell?

And then the command comes–“Don’t tell so-and-so”. And the so-and-so says “Don’t tell that so-and-so.”

(I’m not sure where the endquote goes–before or after the period?–so I’m including both options.)

So I don’t.

But when to speak up?

Is Silence Golden? You might have thought that gold is the perfect symbol of non-reactivity, as it is used safely with fillings and crowns in the mouth, and it apparently is. And yet, there is such a thing as gold salt, which is used as one treatment for arthritis, but has a bit of a downside, according to Wikipedia:

Chrysiasis

One noticeable side-effect of gold-based therapy is the coloring of the skin in shades of mauve to a purplish dark grey when exposed to sunlight, if the salts are taken on a regular basis over a long period of time .[6] Excessive intake of gold salts while undergoing chrysotherapy result – through complex redox processes – in the saturation by relatively stable gold compounds of skin tissue and organs (as well as teeth and ocular tissue in extreme cases), a condition known as chrysiasis, similar to a certain extent to argyria which is related to silver salts and colloidal silver. Chrysiasis can ultimately lead to acute renal failure (such as tubular necrosis, nephrosis, glomerulitis ),[7] severe heart conditions and hematologic complications (leukopenia, anemia).[8][9][10] While some effects can be healed with moderate success, the pigmentation of the skin is considered permanent.

So very clear is that you can never know what’s around the corner. Even if (or perhaps especially if?) you prepare for every possibility that you can imagine, and even if you have a very vivid imagination, you can never really know what’s about to hit.

I mentioned this to ISHI after telling him more unexpected stuff last night. He responded that this is right there in  Vayishlach, the Torah portion of this week.

Oh, so true. Yaakov prepared for his encounter with his brother Eisav, who had wanted him dead. And as much as he prepared, he knew that the only way to really count on was his turning to G-d in prayer. By admitting that he needed help, he could understand his own power.

Things have a clear way of showing up. You can be sure that whatever you thought was going to happen will not include at least one thing that you never saw coming. So the Serious of Life must be taken with a grain of salt.

But I really didn’t answer my question of when to tell, did I?

From the Facebook page of Kasim Hafeez:

So I’m working on it.

 

3 thoughts on “silence is golden, but don’t take it with any gold salts

Leave a Reply

