big brother isn’t watching

or maybe even listening. I never really paid attention to how funny it is if/when CBS announces “You’re watching Big Brother.” Of course, that’s because I never did or would. I watch TV to be entertained or educated; reality TV does neither. It may be educational to find out how ridiculous people are, but I think we already know enough about that. What should we be learning about? Yesterday, I went to drop off bags of discarded clothing to the most local thrift shop. As I approached it, something made me think that perhaps I should have called first. Yes, it was gone, replaced by a do-it-yourself furniture store. “Good luck with your business,” I told the man behind the desk. And then I went to Target and bought more stuff. Yes, the irony is not lost on me, nosirree! George Carlin, move over! [Children–if you are unaware of the reference made above to George Carlin and stuff, I do suggest you take a moment to read the link. Or look at the youtube that I did not link. Good good stuff.] So now to get rid of the bags of old stuff, which I was so grateful that we had gathered together from the basement. We are preparing for flooding there, so that we won’t be shocked when it happens. Oh, I said it here pretty well already just so very recently.

Things have a clear way of showing up. You can be sure that whatever you thought was going to happen will not include at least one thing that you never saw coming. So the Serious of Life must be taken with a grain of salt.

I thought of all the places that used to contact us for donations of gently-used items. The first one that came to mind was Big Brother, even while I was driving home from Target. And that’s what made me laugh, in that ironic kind of way, when the joke is on you and me. Big Brother isn’t really paying attention, is he? Maybe it’s a case of two steps forward, one step back. I see that this is better phrased by Robert Brault as:

“Optimist: Someone who figures that taking a step backward after taking a step forward is not a disaster, it’s a cha-cha.”

So now, as I prepare for our niece’s upcoming wedding, which means preparing for Passover over a week early, it’s time to look back at some photos. Even as we had this nice warm-up this past few days, which enables us to think about the possibility of snow, all we really had was this stuff I can only call snudge, along with the streams now forming in the streets really testing our collective mettle, not to mention the waterproofness of our boots.

Yes, it’s definitely time to look back at some color.

These are all from our trip to Newport Beach and environs.

By the way, the organization is called Big Brothers Big Sisters now. But they couldn’t even pick up our stuff until after the wedding, so we had to go to another worthy organization. Vietnam Veterans of America. They’re picking the stuff up tomorrow. Stepping forward.

Leave a Reply

